The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

1545934_258530134306380_1731669293_nMy 3/5 rating on GoodReads has already been enough to raise eyebrows however, before I started this challenge, I promised myself that I would be honest with my opinions about the classics I read. I decided I won’t force myself to like a classic just because IT’S A CLASSIC or be afraid to say I didn’t like it.

I can’t believe a user actually had to delete her GoodReads review because she didn’t agree with the general consensus. I hope my post doesn’t attract any heated debate.

I’m not sure why I don’t feel the same way about The Great Gatsby as most people do. It could be any of these reasons:
1) This is usually what happens when you read classics late in life – you’ve heard so much, you approach them with a certain scale of expectations
2) Another thing that happens is – you’re unable to appreciate the fact that it has a certain status because it was the first of its kind
3) I read the plot overview before reading the novel so maybe there was no surprise element left for me
4) I read a different book altogether
5) I genuinely didn’t see what others saw

I usually crib when authors indulge in too much unnecessary detail (cough, The Luminaries, cough) but with The Great Gatsby, I was left wishing that Fitzgerald had indulged a bit more. The novel was just way too crisp – beginning and ending in the blink of an eye. I honestly feel like I read some cheap, concise, pirated edition with missing pages. I wanted to know more about Gatsby and Daisy’s romantic history, I wanted to see more passion when they reunite. I wanted to know how Tom and Mrs. Wilson’s affair began, I wanted to see some more reaction from Daisy’s character on knowing that her husband is openly having an affair, I wanted more of Nick and Jordan’s romance. I wanted to hate Tom and Daisy more intensely, feel Gatsby’s passion, and admire Nick for his objectivity. I wanted to see more of the shallowness of the upper class.

I felt like he had this story that he wanted to tell but wrote it in a hurry. I thoroughly enjoyed Fitzgerald’s writing, but I wanted to read more, much more.

What do you think?

